Posted in Writerly Advice, Writers I Like, Writing and all its cousins

An easy, step-by-step guide on how to begin your pantoum. I love the simplicity of this article and the way they walk you through what COULD become a difficult form.

Chronicles of Illusions

A pantoum poem looks like it is a difficult format to follow, but in reality it is just a lot of fun. You follow a recurring outline. The pantoum uses four line stanzas. You repeat lines throughout the poem. Lines 2 and 4 of a stanza then become lines 1 and 3 of the next. By using this structure you give the poem its cadenced quality. Follow the instructions below.

1. Write a four-line stanza. Use your imagination; try to make the lines emotional. Just like with any other poem let the words take over.

2. Lines 2 and 4 of stanza 1 now become lines 1 and 3 of the next stanza.

3. Creating lines 2 and 4 so that connect lines 1 and 3.

4. Repeat the outline. Lines 2 and 4 of the second stanza become 1 and 3 of the third. Repeat this until you have…

View original post 258 more words

Author:

2011 Nano winner 2009 special mention in Writer's Journal for "Silent Words" Poet, avid reader, lover of art, average Jane

5 thoughts on “

  1. I have never heard of a pantoum poem before. Clicked over and read–have maybe decided to stick with stream-of-consciousness blogging for now. 🙂 But this was interesting!

    Like

  2. Thank you for reblogging the post about pantoums…it is lovely to hear that someone thinks you have made it easy to understand…which was what I was trying for…I found all the explanations out there rather difficult to follow thus making a pantoum seem like a difficult form when really it isn’t.

    Like

    1. You’re welcome. I was HOPING that you wouldn’t be upset that I’d reblogged it. I wanted to make sure to give you the proper credit that was due. Yes, many explanations make this form seem like some horrible math equation:-) The first time, I did fine until I got to the end. (The “switcheroo” I called it.) I like how you broke it down into prospective stanzas and #’s. I think the visual of that makes it simpler. Kudos.

      Like

      1. Actually I don’t know why people get their knickers in such a knot over reblogging…I take it as a huge compliment…and think it is a great way to possibly reach people you would not normally reach…so thank you again. I am so glad to hear that I made it seem doable. I love pantoums…actually I love trying different forms…I find it relaxing…how OTT is that ? Hehehehehe

        Like

Comments are closed.