Posted in Writer's Prompts, Writing and all its cousins

Poetic Forms: Triolet

I am drawn to forms that require echo such as pantoum, blitz, and of course, this one.

Triolet, a type of French poetry, emphasizes repetition throughout its eight lines and is fun to write.  It goes a little something like this:

A

B

a

A

a

b

A

B

***

Now, in the early part of 2010, I attempted one.  I say “attempted” because mine is a more loosely adopted version.

***

Brown Iris

Brown-eyed seductress, I must walk away

your weapon lures like a charmer’s flute

lips say nothing; eyes beg stay

brown-eyed seductress, I must walk away

on edge of line no longer straight–

fingers inches from touching you

brown-eyed seductress, I must walk away

your weapon lures like a charmer’s flute

sms/whatevertheyaint 3-2010

***

Ready, set, go:  your turn.  Feel free to share your triolet in the comment section. Or create your own blog post.

>>>

Here are a few I came across on WordPress that I really dig.  Kudos to the poets.  Please show them some love by clicking on their links below:

Related articles

Author:

2011 Nano winner 2009 special mention in Writer's Journal for "Silent Words" Poet, avid reader, lover of art, average Jane

3 thoughts on “Poetic Forms: Triolet

  1. Thank you for linking my poem. This was my first (and so far, only) triolet. A very beautiful form…I’m sure I’ll try another some day. I really enjoyed your “Brown Iris”…you did a great job!

    Like

Comments are closed.