Posted in Writers I Like

Poets & Poetry II

Nothing is  more relaxing (for me) than sprawling across the couch with  a book of poetry, my reading glasses, soft lighting, and a little jazz.

Today I’ve migrated from the bed to the computer room; I’ve eaten and worked my way to the living room; I’ve promised myself a shower after “one more page” and now, here I am, at the computer again, to share more of my faves with you.  Of course, some of these I’ve read more than once–maybe twice, or three times over the years.

Friedrich Von Schiller Poesie

Jessica Hagedorn Sorcery

Janice Mirikitani August 6

Georgia Douglas Johnson I Want To Die while You Love Me

Laureen Mar The Window Frames the Moon

When I Stand Around Among Poets Lucille Clifton

Robert Hayden Runagate, Runagate

Henry Dumas Afro-America

**Audre Lorde  Stations (One of my faves of all time…thus far)

Emily Dickenson Because I Could Not Stop for Death

Janice Mirikitani Desert Flowers

Paul Laurence Dunbar We Wear the Mask

Denise Duhamel I Told You I Was Sick

Gwendolyn Brooks We Real Cool

Rudyard Kipling  If

To be continued…

In the meantime, who are your favorites and why?

 

Author:

2011 Nano winner 2009 special mention in Writer's Journal for "Silent Words" Poet, avid reader, lover of art, average Jane

5 thoughts on “Poets & Poetry II

    1. Miles, Nina, Billy, Coltrane, and there’s a song by Malcolm McLauren, “Jazz is Paris and Paris is Jazz” that I really like:-) Then there’s the compilation CDs… Seems like I’ve got Bill Evans somewhere. I’ve seen that name round here b4 but not as an individual CD; I’ll have to check him out.

      Like

Comments are closed.