Posted in Writers I Like

Writers I Like: Trina Lynne

I met Miss Trina Lynne last year, via her blog Ambitious  Endeavors.  She’s a powerful poet, writer, and promoter of other artists. (Check out  her fan page on FB which goes by the same name.)

I had the pleasure of interviewing her this past week, and here is what she had to say:

 

What has been the most challenging aspect of writing? The most challenging aspect of writing is trying to figure out your voice. Everyone always has a perspective on what you should write and the amount of time it should take you to write. Honestly, others don’t know what a writer’s process is, and if you have no established voice, you can get lost in the slush pile. 

 

Do you have a particular genre in which you write? If not, in which genre do you feel most comfortable? Just like with most things in life, I’m very eclectic. I love most genres and try to fiddle around with whatever may come to mind. I would have to say I am most comfortable with poetry. It allows me to express my thoughts and feelings in a way that other genres do not permit. 

 

How do you balance the scales between everyday li

 fe and creative endeavors? Do you have a set schedule for each? If so, please explain. Keeping a schedule is important. Sadly for me, it can be a pain trying to stick to it. Early mornings and late evenings are usually set aside for work only, with my every day life falling in between those hours. Sometimes, however, I get a sudden idea or inspiration and I find myself writing during ‘family time’. I have tons of support, so most times, I’m forgiven for sneaking in work when I’m supposed to be taking a break. 

 

How long have you been writing? Did it begin as a hobby or did you always know that you’d want to write on a professional level? For most people one morphs into the other. If this is the case who motivated you in pursuing your writing goals? Truthfully, I’ve been writing since I could hold a pencil. I was that annoying kid in class who wrote two pages instead of two paragraphs about what I did over the weekend. As I grew up, I knew in my mind and heart that I wanted to be a writer but didn’t think I could accomplish writing as a career. Once I got over that hurdle, it was a match made in heaven and has been for almost 4 years. My motivations came from all those books in the library that lined the shelves with millions of words and thousands of ideas. All those authors inspired me to want to share my voice with the world. 

 

Any advice for beginners? What I would say to writers just starting out is don’t feel pressured. Never think that you have to categorize yourself as an author or a poet or a journalist. Never feel that you have to fall into a particular realm of writing to be acknowledged. Write what YOU want to write. Write what makes YOU happy. Write things that YOU can be proud of because if you do, nothing else matters.

 

(In one word) Writing is liberating.

*
*
*

~TrinaLynne
If the sky is the limit, why are you still on the ground
http://trinalynne.com 

http://cheerstomom.blogspot.com

http://imeanreallydude.blogspot.com

Author:

2011 Nano winner 2009 special mention in Writer's Journal for "Silent Words" Poet, avid reader, lover of art, average Jane