Posted in Writing and all its cousins

Books, books, and more books!

Books in the Douglasville, Georgia Borders store.
Books in the Douglasville, Georgia Borders store. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My aunt is one of those folks with books everywhere.  In the kitchen.  On the couch. In the bathroom. Basically, in every corner and crevice of her apartment.  Often, I’ll drop by and find her reading one novel while stashing a sheet of folded paper in another.

“How do you do that?” I asked one evening.

“Do what?”

“Read more than one story at a time without getting lost.”

“Easy,” she replied.

Let me be the first to tell you, people.  It AIN’T easy!

I bought an electronic reader with part of my short-story winnings (which is a story in itself), but my new-found toy had no books, no magazines, and very little else other than what came with it out of the box.  So, I began shopping.  And I chose several novels and magazines, which I determined I’d peruse later, like when stuck at the doctor’s office, suffering from insomnia, or waiting on Thing 1 and 2 to wrap up practice.  Meanwhile, I also checked out reading material from the library.  (Why go on a buying frenzy when you’re on a budget)

Here’s where the problem started: I began Southern Comfort, also by Fern Michaels, but it was too depressing for my light mood.  The guy’s family is murdered two or three pages into the story.  So, out of restlessness, I began a book I’d downloaded by Debbie Macomber called Starlight. Not one of my usual go-to authors, but hey.

Then, yesterday, I added Save Me, by Lisa Scottoline. (Talk about gripping!)

But before that, I’d begun The Last Promise by Richard Paul Evans.

Now I don’t know if I’m in a villa, a school, or the middle of a crime scene.

What I’m trying to say here is that…I can’t do three or four books at once!

***

*

*

*

 

Can you? 

Any suggestions as to what to read next?

 

 

Author:

2011 Nano winner 2009 special mention in Writer's Journal for "Silent Words" Poet, avid reader, lover of art, average Jane

9 thoughts on “Books, books, and more books!

  1. No, I don’t like to have more than one book going at a time. I find if I walk away from a story, to read another, I rarely go back to the first.

    Like

  2. Firstly, I think you should get Calibre to read detailed synopsis of books before you dive into reading them. Its a compulsory exercise for me now before I start any book.

    As per the “literary multi-tasking,” I was doing it before the phrase was even coined. The aim is to read books that match your mood, and this changes with the times of the day. For example, you don’t start reading a thriller at 10pm. If you do, you might still be up by 2am trying to find out how the good guy would overcome his troubles.

    Like

    1. How do I get Calibre? And you’re right about the thrillers. I”ve lost much sleep trying to get to the next clue with those type books. Definitely something you start before 10 pm 🙂

      Like

    1. I think I’ll stick to one book at a time from now on. I like to have my characters and settings in place. Although I will pick up several different magazines depending on where I am or what room I’m in 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.