Posted in drafts/jewelsintherough, Writing

Camp NanoWriMo

this one time, at writing camp…”

I have an issue with challenges.  I take them on (as long as they don’t include jumping off bridges or parachuting) with a zeal and determination so strong I’m often looked at as being crazy.

Translation: I’m stubborn and driven.

In November 2011 I joined Nanowrimo and, after several sleepless nights, brain fatigue, and–according to staff–a car that continued to roll as I jumped out each morning (I ALWAYS managed to make it to the clock on time.  Well, almost always), I completed a draft.  My first, somewhat flawed novel!

2012 found me struggling to make it pass 3,000 words.  If you’re familiar with Nano, you know that the goal for National Writing Month is more like 50K.  I forced my way through a couple of chapters, wrapped my hands in ace bandages and splints, and eventually listened to that other voice in my head, the voice of reason.

Now it is 2013 and, after receiving an email about CAMP Nanowrimo, I’m in the trenches again.  Well, not really the trenches.  More like…a retreat?  That’s what the web page says.

So, as I pack up and head to the cabin, I hope that my cabin mates are as eager as I am, that they don’t snore, that we don’t get eaten by bears, and that we all reach our writing goals.

Happy camping.

*

How about you?  Are you participating in Camp Nano this month?  If so, what are you working on? Do you plan to collaborate with someone or go it alone?  And, if you’re looking for a partner, would you care to join me?

Author:

2011 Nano winner 2009 special mention in Writer's Journal for "Silent Words" Poet, avid reader, lover of art, average Jane

5 thoughts on “Camp NanoWriMo

  1. I hope you had a great time writing with others, Shonte! It does sound wonderful and I haven’t participated in this, but cabins or camping, yes! xx

    Like

  2. I love Camp!!! *grins* alright, I love writing with others, I don’t care how. But adding the challenge of meeting a goal, along with others striving for the same goal, there just isn’t anything like that!
    I have started a new novel, I was going to revise one of my previous NaNoNovels, but since I do so much better hammering out the hard part during NaNo, I settled on working on another idea. I am however working on a lower word count goal, only because with summer on the way I want to be able to go do things too, and not worry about writing 24/7.
    I like having friends working on their stuff at the same time, it makes the challenge that much more fun!

    Like

Comments are closed.