Posted in Writing and all its cousins

The Stages of Grief

I’m unsure where I am at this point but what I DO know is  that I plan to write a future blog post on what not to do/say when one loses their father. Death is never an easy transition for the loved ones left behind, but this is by far the hardest thing I’ve ever been forced to do.  No foresight, no time or warning, just…gone. And who knew that last post, The Armor of Fine II, would wind up being my mantra. The next stage will likely be depression.

We will love and miss you forever, Daddy.

Grief
Grief (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I know it’s often taboo to write such personal thoughts, but sometimes writing is the best (legal) medicine. Besides, I don’t do illegal. So, it is between writing my heart out or going nuts.  I’ll choose writing.

Author:

2011 Nano winner 2009 special mention in Writer's Journal for "Silent Words" Poet, avid reader, lover of art, average Jane

4 thoughts on “The Stages of Grief

  1. Aww Shonte’ I’m so sorry for your loss. I know when my dad died I cried for the two years following. I was filled with regret that I’d never told him that I loved him (he was an alcoholic and at times homeless) and I never had any deep or meaningful conversations with him.

    I pray the Lord will bless and comfort you and your dear family as you go through this sad time. Love and hugs, Elizabeth

    Like

    1. Thank you for the prayer, love, hugs, and sharing of your personal experience. Check your inbox (the place I always email you:-) this weekend. I plan to drop you a few lines there. Again, thank you for such an honest and understanding reply to this post.

      Like

Comments are closed.