Posted in music, Music & Art Forms

Composer: James L Revels

You mention that you are a “self-taught” composer. Can you elaborate on that? How did you learn the ins and outs so-to-speak?

The “self-taught” part refers to the music composition and audio engineering. I learned how to do this by practicing engineering on the vocals of my high school friends who used to rap and by making instrumentals in my free time. I will admit I was taught how to read music in elementary, but that didn’t help me when it came time to compose.  I had to learn everything else from books, Google, and experimentation.

Have you always had a passion for music?

I haven’t always had a passion for music.  Initially, I wanted to be a writer–specifically poetry–but I came to feel that most people wouldn’t listen to my poems unless they were over music.  So, during high school I bought a five-dollar gaming mic, began experimenting with music, and the rest is history.

How many hours a day or week do you work on your music? Tell us what a typical day for James is like.

I practice about 20-40 hours a week depending on my work schedule. A typical day involves waking up at 7 or 8 a.m., then jumping on my keyboard for about an hour. After that, I get online to check the social media and work on a composition or instrument building in Reason.  After that, the day is pretty free-form. I could be going to work or going to hang out with my music mates of Radikal Nation as we work on our group album. I’m still an ordinary person, for now 🙂

In what ways do you promote other artists?  Tell us about some of the venues in which you promote both your music and that of others.

I promote artists primarily on the internet. Particularly, my blog (audiosexxx.com) or on Radikal Nation’s blog (rnwdgaf.wordpress.com). RN does have an official website (rnrecords.weebly.com) which we plan on turning into a place where musicians from all over can network and talk in our forum, but right now the site is in its infancy. We are still gathering support for it.

Any advice for those looking to get into  composing and/or writing music?

I’d say, “network almost as much as you practice,” because what’s the point of having music that no one is going to know about and listen to?

Five contemporary artists you admire and five legendary and/or old school artists you look up to:

1. Zun

2. Masashi Hamauzu

3.Tycho

4. Fall Out Boy

5. Nobuo Uematsu

***

1. Nas (lyrically)

2. Claude Debussy

3. Jimi Hendrix

4. Gustov Holst

5. Modest Mussorgsky

Who or what inspires your music?

Curiosity inspires my music the most. Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe said, “Geometry is frozen music.” I take this completely literal, and I’m trying to see how far I can take that idea. It’s better understood with a few pictures of my note [I’ve attached a few pictures for you]

In one word, music is __________

Life

*

*
Radikal Nation Presents…夏炉冬扇 Karo Tōsen (Summer Heater, Winter Fan) and XXXplicit CompleXXXion Series. Karo is my 45 minute summer project which takes you through a variety of sounds and is practice for my first album which is to be released as soon as I upgrade to Reason 7. You should download it so you don’t miss out on the 6 download exclusive tracks. (http://jamesrevelsiii.bandcamp.com/album/karo-t-sen-summer-heater-winter-fan)
XXXplicit CompleXXXion Series by Divine Linez is a sensual 4 track mixtape for those who have some extra freakiness they just can’t seem to release. Unlike the average sex rapper, Divine Line brings the aesthetic of a poet, while still being raw and frank. Whether you prefer a Mz. Dark, Brown, or Light Skin ,or happen to be a Miss yourself, I’m sure you will find a track for you. (http://rnwdgaf.bandcamp.com/album/xxxplicit-complexxxionz)
composerintervattchIMG_20130926_100828 IMG_20130926_101042 IMG_20130926_101249 IMG_20130926_101554
Thank you, James, for an excellent interview. Best wishes on your new release.
Interviewed by Shonte’ S  aka Whatevertheyaint
9/26/2013
Author:

2011 Nano winner 2009 special mention in Writer's Journal for "Silent Words" Poet, avid reader, lover of art, average Jane

One thought on “Composer: James L Revels

Comments are closed.