Posted in Writers I Like, Your Turn

Third Place Winners of Bring On the Words: Katherine Stokes and Tate Morgan

DADDY DO YOU HEAR ME

KATHERINE STOKES

Where would I be if I didn’t have you?

Lost in a world of confusion

not knowing what to do

I knew you were around,

it was just something I missed…

Silent cries of my envy of

a father’s sweet kiss

That’s why I ask,

“DADDY do you hear me?”

*

Did you know the many nights I cried,

as I wondered why you were away

Mind riddled with negative thoughts

from negative people from around the way

All my life seemed to be in shambles,

a sort of battle-like tug-of-war

Not knowing you had demons of your own

away from your family, so very far

But I still ask,

“Daddy do you hear me?”

*

Daddy I would have loved every moment

of every minute of every hour

of the precious moments I had with you

Overjoyed with the thoughts of many questions

that I needed answered,

that only you had the answers to

*

Man I was lonely…

My loneliness still remains a new-found friend

of purpose,

never knowing where my focus should be,

and what price I would have to pay

to see a future of gain–Are you listening daddy?

I ask again,

DADDY do you hear me?

*

I have been through so much,

and in life it’s a lesson learned

Pain, anxiety, and such are the evils that

cause concern

Why did I take myself down that road, daddy

to a place where I knew I could never win

A full day can’t go any farther,

it’s a dead-end

Daddy if only I could rewind

the times I had with you

Daddy, I would tell you that one last time,

how much I love you

*

I know you’re up there gazing down on me

I want you to know I’m doing good to let God–

trying to be drama free

Yet, I still ask…DADDY do you hear me?

*

Though my life seems challenging, I wake

full of hopes and dreams

Goals steady coming, a future yet unseen

Daddy, I know you hear me, it seems to be clear

Remembering the times we had together

as I hold them dear

I love you with all my heart…

Your grand-daughters look just like you

I ask, daddy, do you hear me?

And in turn I know you do

Author:

2011 Nano winner 2009 special mention in Writer's Journal for "Silent Words" Poet, avid reader, lover of art, average Jane

One thought on “Third Place Winners of Bring On the Words: Katherine Stokes and Tate Morgan

Comments are closed.