Posted in everyday living, life and reflection, Perhaps...I'll Let You In

What a Difference a Decade Makes

From the journal, ten years ago:

 

Tired. No time for anything. Do vacations even count when you have two kids? (The baby.. AND baby’s daddy:-) Look how I have to type my journal entries now. Abridged! Remember the days when I could just sit around with candles and an Erykah Badu CD? Then drive 27 miles or so, take myself to Ryan’s restaurant, waste money on a new smell good and CD, then buy a book, the self-discovery ones where you have to fill in the blanks?  “All About Us,” “List Yourself,” “To Our Children’s Children” (Who knew the last one would serve a purpose.)  Sigh…  That was the life. I’m losing part of my sleep just writing this. I should be napping with the little  one, like the parenting magazine says.

 

 

*A couple of years later, my second child came along. I can honestly say that my name is S, and I have no nerves.

*Parenthood and family has a way of bringing us out of ourselves and into something much more meaningful and special.

* I ditched novels and dove into magazines. They’re easier to digest, and you can do it mindlessly. Just flip the page, no need to actually read.

* Occasionally, I’ll splurge on a self-discovery book to stay sane.

* Who am I? What did they do with that other me, you know, the narcissist?!

 

 

meaning

 

YOUR TURN: How has your life changed over the past decade? How would you say the world in general has changed?

Author:

2011 Nano winner 2009 special mention in Writer's Journal for "Silent Words" Poet, avid reader, lover of art, average Jane

5 thoughts on “What a Difference a Decade Makes

  1. Shonte’ your photo with your baby is gorgeous. I’m 57 (Yikes, almost 60!) so I have a little more time under my belt too. All I can tell you is that when your child/children leave home the silence is deafening, and you have all the time in the world to read and write. I wish I’d cherished his childhood days more. I seemed to always be stressed, and before I knew it he was all grown and living in another city. I can’t imagine the fear and anxiety of parents with kids in schools these days. We never worried about things like shootings. It must be awful.

    Like

    1. I’ve had several people tell me to enjoy them now, that once they hit preteen/teen, they want nothing to do with parents. At this point, however, I just can’t imagine that. LOL They’re a joy though. In fact, both of them love to read and write stories too. So I’m not exactly alone in my endeavors anymore 🙂 I hope they keep their love of art, and words, and music…. I hope I get to see them grow up, and my grandchildren, and their children. That’s a tall order isn’t it 🙂

      Like

  2. Wow, this is very thought provoking and I love how you went from past to present. Your photo is adorable, by the way. Well, I’m a little older than you 🙂 52, soon to hit 53 in March…my husband and I were both talking yesterday about how weird and surreal it feels saying that both of our kids are in college. 🙂
    I can totally relate to your dilemmas and humor about parenting, especially, when they’re little and dependent on you. I think back on those times and as precious as they were, I’m happy to be where we’re at now. I don’t miss the sleep deprivation, but they were so cute and innocent.
    I don’t know what we did that was so right, but we are blessed to have two responsible children, daughter, 22, and son, 18.
    In the last 10 years, well, they grew up! 🙂 And I suppose we grew older! 🙂
    Here’s what I learned, though…no matter how old your kids are, you will always worry about them and it’s truly hard letting go. The greatest worry is wanting them to be safe.
    The world seems to only be getting worse, with shootings every time the news is turned on, wars, etc. It’s frightening and enough to cause an anxiety attack. So, letting go, knowing they’re living on their own, we just pray for their safety, every day.
    And in the midst of the violence in our country and world, we take one day at a time and try to stay focused on the positive and keep our faith.
    I’ll finish now and I apologize for writing a book!
    p.s. when your children get older, you will have time for novels again and it will be wonderful!
    Hugs and Blessings, Lauren

    Like

    1. I love your “book!” LOL Believe it or not, I was 28 on that picture. I’m 39 now. And yes, my kids tell me I worry too much. There’s so much to think about now, stuff that most folks never gave a second thought in the past. Now, you send kids to school and have to worry if they’ll make it out alive. Teaching has become as dangerous a profession as any, and… Well, yeah, the new millennium has changed things, or maybe I’m just getting old. My goal is to work on two novels I shelved, or to start a new one next month. I don’t know. Just had carpal tunnel surgery on my dominant hand, so we’ll have to see how it holds up next month. Hugs and Blessings to you too Miss Lauren 🙂

      Like

      1. I’m glad I didn’t bore you! 🙂 And you are so right about school and teaching; I was thinking of both of these while writing my “book.” I hope your hand gets better soon so you can make your dreams a reality. I just did with my first poetry book out a week ago and it’s exciting beyond words. Anyway, take care of You and hugs again!

        Like

Comments are closed.