Posted in Writers I Like, Writing

“Broken Doll” by M Robinson

The writerly genius aka Monte Robinson allowed me to share his poem “Broken Doll”

 

BROKEN DOLL

 

Who dropped you?
Heart shattered
Psyche fractured
Pieces held together by a combustible combination of hope and fear
Let me in
Emotional blockade creates distance vaster than sea
I ask again
Who broke you?

Broken doll
Hairline fracture leads to gaping hole
Area where a heart once was
Now fully exposed
No love goes in but fear outpours
Impervious to love
Guarded by cinder block doors
I still ponder
Who hurt you?

Damaged beauty
Can do nothing but wonder
Need to know the one responsible for keeping us asunder
Confidence down
Esteem at a minimum
Beautiful outside, inside a conundrum
Who damaged you?

Shattered pieces
Scattered to and fro
Reassembly a possibility? I may never know
Invest myself
Aware I may never scale the wall
Dedicated to gathering pieces
Broken doll

—-MEGR, Jun 9, 2013

*

*

Other works by Monte featured on the Whatevertheyaint blog:

Storm’s Reply

Givers Vs Takers

Incomplete

Author:

2011 Nano winner 2009 special mention in Writer's Journal for "Silent Words" Poet, avid reader, lover of art, average Jane